An affiliate of the Ohio Retired Teachers Association (ORTA)

President (Acting):
    Bernard Machovina
Vice President &
    Helen Dupont
Recording Secretary:
    Barb Fieger
Corresponding Secretary:
    Helen Bibbee
    Jim McQuown
Community Participation:
    Karen Sprague
    Bernard Machovina
    Janyce Noll
    Barb Shuster
Past President:
    Mary McAtee
    Keller: Marilyn Bauer
      & Jim McQuown
    Findley: Virginia Waratinsky


General: inquiries@lorcorta.org

Membership: membership@lorcorta.org


Website: webmaster@lorcorta.org


LORCORTA Membership Information

Ohio Retired Teachers Association (ORTA) site

State Teachers Retirement System (STRS) site





View/download the October 2020 edition of the LORCORTA News

(Meeting information, minutes, FYI's and other useful information)


View/download the LORCORTA Bequest Form

Right-click on any link and select "Save" to download a copy to your computer.





Stay informed and stay healthy - Link to the CDC Site!



Orrin R. Findley Scholarship
Orrin R. Findley Scholarship information









Mary Elizabeth Keller Scholarship
Mary Elizabeth Keller Biography and Scholarship information

For 2020, seven $1000 Orrin Findley Scholarships were awarded to graduating high school students!

Congratulations to the recipients:  Ethan Alexander Barnes, a graduate of Marion L. Steele High School in Amherst who will be attending Miami University to study engineering;  Katherine Louise Chizar, an Elyria High School graduate who plans to study sociology and marketing at Kent State University;  Caden Alexander Dargo who will be studying Spanish and physical therapy at University of Pittsburgh following his graduation from Elyria High School;  Molly Elizabeth Fenik who exchanges Elyria High for University Dayton where she will study mechanical and biomedical engineering;  Caitlyn Gibbs, a graduate of Magnificat High School who plans to enter a program in secondary education at Loyola University;  Julia Adelia Marino who graduates from Avon High School to The Ohio State University to pursue a degree in health sciences;  and Josie Elle Reinker who intends to follow a career in either music or math education at the University of Dayton after being graduated from Avon High School.

For 2020, seven $1000 Mary Elizabeth Keller Scholarships were awarded to college junior or senior year students pursuing education degrees!

Congratulations to those recipients:  Jessica Barnes attending Ashland University at LCCC and studying Language Arts and math, licensure in Middle Childhood Education, grades 4-9;  Maisy Breese attending University of Akron and majoring in mathematics with Adolescent and Young Adult, grades 7-12 licensure;  Edward Catanese who is pursuing licensure in Middle Childhood Education, grades 4-9 at Ashland University at LCCC and majoring in Language Arts and Social Studies;  Dean Mraz majoring in mathematics at Bowling Green University with licensure of Adolescent and Young Adult, grades 7-12 licensure;  Rafael Pacheco seeking licensure in Adolescent and Young Adult, grades 7-12 with a major of Integrated Language Arts at Bowling Green University;  Gabrielle Post majoring in Integrated Language Arts at Ursuline College with licensure in Adolescent and Young Adult, grades 7-12;  and Bailey Scheck attending Hiram College majoring in Integrated Social Studies with licensure in Adolescent and Young Adult, grades 7-12.

© 2021 Lorain County Retired Teachers Association

Hosted by HMV Services LLC